API Gateway with nginx - unable to connect with service

Hello all,!

I am currently studying API Gateway and chose nginx fabric as implementation and k0s as my kubernetes runtime.

I am trying a simple “local” configuration and everything looks good except for the gateway not finding my sample service.

I’ve documented everything i did so far in this discussion here: k0s cluster - unable to connect with service · nginxinc/nginx-gateway-fabric · Discussion #1357 · GitHub

Any guidance is welcome, i’ll try another Gateway API implementation to see if it’s nginx fault, but i appreciate any extra hint on this.

for anyone wondering the outcome of this, i ended up using ingres, way more simpler to configure for now NGINX Ingress Controller - Documentation

i just applied the manifest and done, i was able to deploy a sample application with near zero effort.

i gues i must wait for gateway api solutions to get simpler to use, at least with k0s

Yeah, Ingress is much simpler, but naturally comes with some limitations. Which to solve GatewayAPI was developed. :slight_smile:

As your Ingress works, meaning the ingress controller can connect to the pods, it seems the pod networking is working fine. Why is the Nginx GW thingy not able to connect to the svc/pod, I have no idea. I’d check few things:

• Exec into the GW pod(s) and try if you can connect to the svc/pod IPs directly
    • If the GW pods do not come with any additional tooling, kubectl debug ... is very handy
  • Can you see any requests to the target pod, check the logs?
1 Like

Hey, thanks for the reply!

well, one thing i did different this time was to disable firewalld, at least while i thest this.

now i got nginx response with bad gateway but no luck serving the httproutes.

this is what i tried so far: GitHub - sombriks/k0s-api-gw-issue: for some reason use api gw instead of ingress is not working when using nginx fabric on k0s